Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Veronica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12557
Name Veronica
Nationality South African
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Daewoo
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2002.

Education

Secondary EducationHigh School Vredenburg, (Merit)
Tertiary EducationDiploma in early childhood , opening a daycare
First aid TrainingYes, I have first aid.
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2002-2006, the children grew up and they did not need an au pair any more
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Girl 18 months and boy newborn.
What were your duties?Everything involving the children, changing nappies, feeding , driving them around, cleaning rooms and play area, doing educational games, free play and shopping errands.I loved this family and felt like part of the family. I even moved with them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006- October 2007. Left to work for Arne.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boy age 3months and newborn boy.
What were your duties?Taking care of the boys while parents were at work cleaning nappies, feeding, playing ( educational and free) keeping playroom and their rooms clean, cooking for the boys and some shopping errands, I also attended moms and tots group with them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2007- October 2007. I assisted her for a short period for the extra income.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?12 year old boy
What were your duties?I helped the boy with his homework. I assisted with his Grade 6 homework and supervising him. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2007 and currently employed, they don't want an au pair with a baby.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1, girl 3months old
What were your duties?Everything involving the girl, changing nappies, feeding , playing(educational and free), driving to tots groups, shopping errands, sleep training her,, and I travelled overseas with the family and then I looked after their 2 year old son as well.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations:

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I always wanted to be an Au pair and in the next five years I still want to be an Au pair.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting when I was 16 and ended looking after a lot of children. I was overseas after that and then started au pairing in South Africa
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born.
What activities are you involved in?Photography, being in nature and going for walks.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like reading and the outdoors. I also love taking photo´s
What are your interests?I love taking photo´s
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like children because they are fun to be around with always honest and you can teach them so much.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?everything, from building blocks to taking them for walks and playing in the park and reading
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would asses the situation, If its very serious I would see if I can do something from my first aid course and call the ambulance , other wise call the ambulance fist.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When I was 16 the boy I was pushing in the swing jumped out and broke his arm. I picked him up, which I should n´t have done I know that now and called his mom
What is your approach to discipline?I mostly follow the parents guidelines, but I do believe a child should be disciplined as soon as he or she knows that what they are doing is not right

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I pick the child up and take him out of the situation the tantrum took place and wait with him in a secure place till he has finished. and then I talk to the child about what just happened and why he got angry
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask them why they are drawing on the wall and explain why it is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I try and relate to the child and after some talking the usually are willing to do homework with me
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn to 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No not any more.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?1 boy 7 months old
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a friendly outgoing person, very loyal and hard-working
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or toast with jam.
LunchSandwich or fruits and yoghurt.
DinnerChicken , potato and mixed veggies
SnackYoghurt, biltong , cookies,
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking gourmet meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still happily married and I have 1 brother that´s 2 years younger then me and a sister that is 12. when I was in High school my parents took 2 children in foster care for 5 years. I still have contact with them

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.