Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12487
Name Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 43
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 BMW X3
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 1994.

Education

Secondary EducationSunwood Park - 1993
Tertiary Education

UNISA- BA Degree specializing in Psychology and counselling - 2003

Degree as an Enrolled Nurse, and now would like to do the bridging program to become a Registered Nurse.

First aid TrainingNo but will be doing one soon.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI did occasional babysitting for her since 2007 to January 2010. I stopped helping her as her son went to school. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She had one boy who was a newborn when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were feeding him, changing nappies, putting him to sleep, and doing stimulating activities with him.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always been involved with children and loved being around them. When I left school I opened up my own play group. I am interested in au pairing and babysitting now as I love children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is a newborn.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in are going to the gym, cycling and running.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I enjoy going to the gym, go cycling and running.
What are your interests?My interests are reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?What I like most about child care is being able to care for them, and make a difference in their lives, and being able to watch them grow.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are reading, colouring in and making arts and crafts.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In an emergency I would first access the situation and deal with it the best way possible.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A difficult situation I have encountered was when a boy I was caring for boy sprayed pepper spray on him. I dealt with it by washing him down with milk.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is using time out.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would go down to their level and tell them that when they ready to talk you are there. I would then just leave them to throw their tantrum, unless that in a dangerous situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on wall, I would explain to them that it is naughty to draw on a wall and that it makes me sad. I would then buy them a big note pad and tell them that this is what we draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would ask them why they don't want to do their homework, then I would also explain to them why its important to do their homework, and then would sit down with them and try help them with their homework and make it fun for them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children from babies up until about 6 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don't work for any previous clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 2 children, my son is 5 years old and my girl is 6 years old.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as caring, friendly, reliable and a responsible person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook.
BreakfastCooked oats / scrambled eggs and toast
LunchSandwich / chicken nuggets / hot dogs
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaize / chicken and vegetables
SnackFruit / cheese and crackers / nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No there isn't anything I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married, my dad is a computer programmer and my mom is a stay at home mom. I have a younger brother who is 27 years old and is a chef. We are a very close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.