Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Alice

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12405
Name Alice
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 46
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Shona, Shangani

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz 2003
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2001.

Education

Secondary EducationChiredzi Xian High School Zimbabwe.
Tertiary EducationParirenyatwa Group Of Hospitals Harare Zimbabwe. I am a qualified nurse. 
First aid TrainingYes, I have valid first aid.
Other trainingCardio- pulmonary Resuscitation

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 - January 2009. She relocated and I could not assist her any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 year old little boy at the time.
What were your duties?Cleaning, Cooking, Dropping and picking from school, Helping with Homework, babysitting at night, Pet care, Shopping, washing, ironing , all general housekeeping.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2009 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children boy aged 2 and girl 4 years old.
What were your duties?Babysitting duties: Prepare a meal for them, supervise them, entertain, putting them to bed and bath them as well.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSince mid 2008 - every Saturday till current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?On average of 14 children, boys and girls. Ages from 5 - 12 years old. 
What were your duties?Preparing snacks for the children, supervising them, entertained them and making sure they are having a good time.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
South Peninsula
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Nursing background, it has been my passion to work closely with children, elderly and the sick. At Kommetjie Christian church a number of people identified my talent and started offering me au pairing , baby sitting posts. I discovered that's what I really want compared to office work ,or now its my best.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From birth to geriatric.
What activities are you involved in?Am involved in lots of outdoor and indoor activities.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?At the moment l do a lot of reading, watching children programmes and DVD's. Busy trying to learn and discover more in this business. I like being on beaches,in Zimbabwe we missed that.
What are your interests?Playing games, reading, hiking, and doing what l have never done before.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like seeing children grow and develop with the necessary safety , security, and provision of best care. I like being involved in day to day childcare, from feeding, bathing, learning to playing. Interests me listening to children's views suggestions, worries, grievances and hearing them expressing their feelings.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Science experiments, drawing, colouring, painting, cutting shapes and exploring nature.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Remove child from danger or remove the danger where possible. use of panic buttons where available. call for help meanwhile doing my first aid care where l can. KNOWING numbers to call in cases of emergencies like fire, urgent illnesses, robberies and so on crucial. Notifying employer or follow employers instruction per employment contract. I WOULD ACT FAST and not PANIC.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?After discovering signs and symptoms that there should be something wrong with the child, on phoning my boss the phone was switched on. THIS WAS HARD FOR ME, I had to phone the family Doctor without her consent which is sometimes unacceptable due to cost factor. Would recommend cell phones on silent than switched off.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in clear explanation of the misconduct, highlighting consequences to children and impact of the bad behaviour. Make them understand and tell them you will discuss that with their parents for their benefit. I do not believe in hidings from nannies they do not help that much, they mainly lead to misunderstandings and confusion.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to establish what's leading to that temper. Find a suitable way of removing the cause where possible. Maybe everyone at the house is busy they are lonely play a bit with them , give them something to do to stay occupied and maybe go on with your work.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain why they have to immediately stop drawing on the wall, take whatever they are using from them, and probably initiate a different activity they may like.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out why they do not want to do their homework, maybe they want to eat first because they are hungry or something. Probably do something relaxing before getting into homework. Look at the homework before starting it with the child, come up with an exciting way of doing that homework, usually 8 year olds would comply.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Am very flexible and energetic and motivated to work with all age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do for Rayne and Lynn. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, 11 year old girl, grade 6, Sunvalley Primary and 7 year old boy grade 2 same school.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Medium build , black lady, active , smiley, light in complexion. Very smart, well organised, self starter can work very well with no or minimal supervision.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastHome-made oats porridge with honey
Lunchscrambled egg on toast and a fruit.
DinnerLasagne served with steamed vegetables.
Snackcheese crackers, sliced yellow and red pepper, cucumber slices and tomatoes nicely laid out in a plate.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not Known
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My dad is late, mum self employed in Zimbabwe, am the first born , Have a 29 year old twin brother and sister, university graduate who left Zimbabwe for Botswana. 31year old sister who comes after me is a nurse working at a mission hospital in Zimbabwe. We communicate electronically. Everyone working very hard to earn a decent lifestyle. My husband passed away in a car accident 2004.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.