Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Odette Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12236
Name Odette Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans, Dutch (conversational)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Tazz 2002 model.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, front and back.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?October 2008. 

Education

Secondary EducationYork High School 2004 - 2008.
Tertiary EducationMBChB (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) student, first year- the University of Cape Town
First aid TrainingYes, I have a valid first aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2008 - December 2009. I had to relocate to Cape Town to study.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 girls 4,6 and 8 years old.
What were your duties?Full time Au pair, getting them ready for school, taking to school, collecting them from school and extra murals, preparing breakfasts, lunches and dinners, keeping them entertained, bathing them and getting them ready for bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2005 -December 2008. I went abroad. 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 children 5, 9 and 11 years old. Two boys and one girl.
What were your duties?Providing them meals, sometimes had to bath them and put them to bed and keeping them entertained.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2004 - June 2007 - June holiday club. I went to Au pair in the Netherlands.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Children of 2 - 4 year olds, 5 - 7 and 11 - 13 year olds. 
What were your duties?Keeping them entertained, arts and crafts, supervising them and preparing Sunday school lessons for them and making sure they interact with one another. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
West Coast
JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Through the first holiday club with youth leaders, I really enjoyed it from there and it just kept on.  
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 2 years old.
What activities are you involved in?UCT ballroom society, SAMSA and RSN.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy cycling and being active. 
What are your interests?Same as above.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Building a relationship with the child and making a difference in their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Creative activities, scrap booking, playing outside with them, any fun activities. I enjoy baking with them as well.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain calm and evaluate the situation and ensure their safety and then call the emergency numbers then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had to keep a child calm because she fell and hit her head open, we then took her to the hospital and then called the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?Positive reinforcement.  

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calm them down, stay firm with them, distract them with something fun.  
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would not shout at them, I would stop them and explain what they are doing is wrong and get the child to clean up with me.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would chat to them and encourage them to do their homework and explain the consequences afterwards if homework is not done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children with children from 2 and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Fun and creative, outgoing, hard-working and dedicated. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal, eggs and bacon or french toast
LunchSandwich,light pasta, hamburgers
DinnerPasta with broccoli, spaghetti bolognaise 
SnackBiscuits and cheese, fruit and yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable cooking any times of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have two older brothers who live in Cape Town, my mother lives in George and she is a secretary and my father lives in Knysna and works as a senior trainer.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.