Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Maylene

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12210
Name Maylene
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Engaged
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota conquest 2004 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seatbelts all round and all working.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2002.

Education

Secondary EducationFlorida Park High School -2002 (Matric exemption)
Tertiary EducationUniversity of Johannesburg (RAU) - BA Psychology Degree - September 2009.
First aid TrainingYes, I completed a infant and toddler First Aid course through The First Aid Academy (Expiring 12/1/2014)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2007 to current, I am still working for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, they are now 15 and 17 years old.
What were your duties?Looking after them, cooking for the family, playing games, general caring.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2008 - December 2009. I went over to animation and my times clashed. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 - 13 children ages between 13 - 17. Boys and girls.
What were your duties?I had to set up the curriculum with the children and decide what I was going to teach them, and go through the curriculum with the owners. We would do practical work doing acting and filming, I prepared a book for them. We showcased their films to the parents as well. You would supervise them during the day and assist them where I could.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I can help kids have fun, grow their social awareness and give them life skills which can help them make good decisions in the future. I would like to bring out children's individuality, get them to think for themselves, respect themselves, their environment and gain self confidence.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 4 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy paragliding, running and cycling.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Relax, watch movies, read a book, cook and gardening. 
What are your interests?I am interested in developing children´s minds though exercise and movement so that they can take information in easier.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like there humbleness and enjoy watching then learn about life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games, being active outside, arts and crafts and anything fun. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain calm, call the ambulance and than the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Have not been in a difficult situation yet.
What is your approach to discipline?No physical discipline. Talking to the child, exploring reasons why they may be acting a certain way. Letting there parents know.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would sit there and be attentive while the child is having there tantrum until they have calmed down. Not making a fuss over the whole tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to them that it is not regarded as acceptable and tell them why. help the to clean it off the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try to explain that it is for their own benefit tell them that I know what its like, and I have been through it and it was not so bad. Let them know that I am there to help them so they can use my time wisely or they can do it on their own.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable from 2 - 16 year olds.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still assist Michelle.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an outgoing person, I love to travel, explore mediation, learning about myself and learning how I can help other grow. It important to me to eat healthy food.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats and toast with jam.
LunchAvo sandwich, cheese with crackers or creative sandwiches. 
DinnerStir-fry or spaghetti bolognaise.
SnackDried fruit or fruit pieces and juice.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am a vegetarian but I don´t mind cooking meat.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have two brothers and one sister, My mom is a beautician and my dad is a mechanic, All my family is in Johannesburg and I miss them very much.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.