Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Dorothy Mari

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11880
Name Dorothy Mari
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Civic 2002 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, back and front in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedNo
How long have you been driving for?Since 2007

Education

Secondary EducationWillowridge High School Passed with Matric Exemption
Tertiary EducationNo tertiary education
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)I need to register for first aid.
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2009 - August 2009. Summer ended and it was a summer camp.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Ranging from 2 - 10 kids & 12 - 15 kids.
What were your duties?In the morning I would wake all the children up and get them ready, take them to breakfast and get them ready for the morning session, cleaning the stable, and take them for riding lessons and take them to lunch and supervise them and then another riding lesson in the evening and supervise them, take them to the lodge and get them cleaned up for them. I was also responsible for children who had to take their medicine on time and the correct meds as well. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI really enjoyed it very much, I learnt allot about myself. I had no issues at all.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 - May 2009. I left to Au pair in America.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 boy aged 10.
What were your duties?Collecting from school and extra murals, assisting with homework, preparing a light snack for him, keeping him entertained and supervising him.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI loved him very much, We got on really with each other. I had No issues at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityArea's of Cape Town
Please state your accurate times of availabilityAu pairing and babysitting. I am very flexible right now. 

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? At the moment I am not doing any courses. I would love to do a photography course and stage make up course and anything to do with arts and crafts. In five years time I would like to have my own events co ordination company or Art school. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My main passion in life is horses and children and I have been giving horse lessons since I was 18 years old. That is how it all started. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 2 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy horse riding, arts and crafts. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I have a lift club which I run, collecting children from schools and extra murals.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Seeing their progress and being able to form a relationship with them even if its just short term. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing with play dough, cooking and anything to do with sports and arts activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remove the child from any danger if I could, without harming them, I would then contact the emergency numbers and then notify the parents.   
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?At summer camp, if children fall off the horses, we should call for help and keep the child calm.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm in a very friendly and loving way.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would evaluate the situation, I would make sure that they are safe and still keep my eye on them and not give them any attention.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it is incorrect and ask them to clean the wall and supervise them.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would ask them them why they don't want to do their homework and communicate with them.I would use positive reinforcement and see if I could get them to do their homework. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 2 years to 18 years. Or from new born to 3 years old. 
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do work for Leone and Lynne.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, loving, I love animals and children, I am creative, kind and caring. I am happy and outgoing. I can be shy at times but once I get to know you I warm up to you. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal, toast with jam and orange juice.
LunchSandwiches, cucumbers and carrot sticks. 
DinnerNoodles, pasta's or mini pizza's.  
SnackFruit and yoghurt and biscuits with cheese. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am fine with cooking any basic meal.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 3 brothers and 1 sister. My parents are still married and live in Pretoria and my mother is physiotherapist and my father is a tourist guide. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.