Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Claire

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11833
Name Claire
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st) English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)White Peugoet 207,4 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2005.

Education

Secondary EducationTreverton College - 2005. (Passed with exemption) 
Tertiary Education

University of California LA Extension Course: American cultural Studies.

First Year Hotel Management: International Hotel School

First aid TrainingYes
Other training18month Au pair in America Programme, Volunteered on a Kibbutz in Israel

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving18th August 2008 - 23rd of February 2010 Visa expired.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys aged 5 and 8
What were your duties?I was responsible for driving carpool for the children in the neighborhood, ensuring that they got to afternoon activities, reading and homework, playing with them, taking them to dinner and putting them to bed when their parents were out. We enjoyed playing sports, board games and Wii. The boys and I enjoyed humour and would spend the days laughing and turning any boring task into a funny game. In the time I was there I helped teach the youngest to read and encouraged him with his interest in math times tables which he was very good at for his young age.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2008 - May 2008. I left to Au pair in America.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Ages from 6 - 15 year old children. Groups of 15 children.
What were your duties?We would plan fun activities for the children, supervise them and keep them entertained. Making sure they enjoyed their activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested Au pairing/ babysitting?I became an Au Pair because I wanted to do the Au Pair in America Program, which would give me the opportunity to travel and see the US. I have always had a love for children and so this was the perfect opportunity to work with them. It´s my goal to be a primary school teacher and so I would love to Au Pair while I´m studying. I would like to bring fun, structure, security and joy into a child´s day.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 4 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy music, movies, exercise, going to the beach and doing outdoor activities. I enjoy going out with friends and meeting new people. I love traveling.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Exercise, waitress, scrap booking and keeping up with friends overseas on facebook.
What are your interests?Music, movies, exercise, outdoor activities, the beach, animals, teaching, traveling
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love being part of a child´s growth and development. I find it rewarding to challenge their minds and be part of their growth and development. I love making a child laugh and having fun together. It truly is a privilege to be part of a child´s life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and Crafts, Playing outside, board games, reading, building,imaginary games etc. I enjoy sharing my interests with the child and I enjoy participating in the child´s interests.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assess the situation and call the necessary emergency services. If the area is still dangerous I would move everyone to a safe place. If there is an injury I would determine what needs to be attended to, whether the child should be moved and whether CPR is required. I would drive the child to the hospital if it is safe to move the child.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The 5 year old boy I took care of would throw allot of tantrums in the beginning. I was always patient, level-headed and calm. I would send him to time-out where he would calm down. I would then sit down and calmly talk about what he had done. Another time a friend of mine was taking care of a 3 month old baby who was crying hysterically. She asked me to help her and I calmed the baby down and she stopped crying. I have never had a problem that was unmanageable.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe it is up to the parents how they would like their children to be disciplined. I will however never ever hit or scream at a child. I believe that as the adult it is my duty to keep calm and level-headed in order to defuse a situation. I have found time-outs and taking away privileges to be very effective.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would remain calm and put him in time-out. Once he was calm we would sit down and talk about what he did wrong and what would have been a better way to get what he wanted or why he could not have what he wanted. If he would not listen I would threaten to take a privilege away. I find that also distracting them before the tantrum gets out of hand works well.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?"Uh-Oh. Are we allowed to draw on walls? No sir. Lets get it cleaned up before mom and dad get home."
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?"I know you don´t want to do your homework but everyone has do do things that are not fun. Mummy and Daddy have to work and do you think they want to do that all day? Come on I´ll help you. Let´s get this done quickly so we can play your favourite game"
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Id love to work with younger children as well. 
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, They´re in America.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No,I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun-loving, outgoing, kind, compassionate, patient and a real people´s person. I have a great sense of humour and a happy-go-lucky attitude. I am positive and adventurous and always love trying new things.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs or Pancakes or cereal.
LunchHot dog, beef sandwich or noodles.
DinnerMince on savoury rice. Fish fingers mash and veggies.
SnackFruit and yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am still new at cooking so I have not mastered complete dishes. I feel confident cooking anything as long as I have a recipe to start.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are married and have a hydraulic engineering business together. I am the eldest of four children. I have a sister(21 years) and two brothers (15 and 19 years). Being the eldest I have always been exposed to young children and being responsible for them.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.