Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Taryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11786
Name Taryn
Nationality South African
Age 38
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English Basic Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio II 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?Since 2000.

Education

Secondary EducationBergvliet High School Matric Exemption
Tertiary EducationB. Soc Sci (UNISA) Crim & Psy B. Soc Sci Honours UCT Crim B. Arts Honours Psy (current)
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes, I do have a valid first aid certificate.
Other trainingTrauma counselling

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2004 - current. Went to study full time again.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 and 4 Girl and boy
What were your duties?General au-pair duties, cooking, lifting, outings, play, bathing them, supervising them, entertaining them. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionLoved it! I still babysit for the family to this day and really enjoy my time with them!

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2005 - December 2006. I was studying full time at UCT
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 and 8 two girls.
What were your duties?Au pairing and babysitting duties: preparing lunches, dinners and breakfasts, collecting form extra murals, supervising them.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI  loved it very much, I love the girls very much. No issues at. 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2004 - Current. I still assist with the kids. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children 11 and 13 at the time.
What were your duties?Collecting form school and extra murals, assisting with homework and projects and supervising them. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoyed it very much. I had no issues at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityCape Town: Southern Suburbs and Atlantic Seaboard.
Please state your accurate times of availabilityAu pairing and Babysitting.

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? In five years I will have gained my Masters degree in Clinical Psychology and will be practising as a Psychologist. Also will be hopefully getting my PhD.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always au-paired and I find I enjoy interacting with children and looking after them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 3 Months and my nephew since new born.
What activities are you involved in?Horse riding and competing, running, walking my dog and going to gym.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading, movies and more horse riding!
What are your interests?Horses, Psychology, Criminology, history.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Watching them grow and learn new things-and being a part of that.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outings, play games-indoor and out. Arts and crafts and story telling.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on what type of emergency-First medical attention-ie hospital or ph ambulance then call parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was extremely sick during an afternoon of looking after a little girl-I fainted and just made it to the phone to call the grandmother for help before I fainted again. My main concern was that the little girl did not leave the house looking for help.
What is your approach to discipline?I am not a very strict person. I would rather try to solve things by talking to the child or if that was not working ask the parents what they prefer in terms of discipline.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Pick him up and try to distract him with other things-remove the object he is focusing on.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Remove the crayon from the hand and explain why they cannot do that then get child to assist you to clean the wall-in a nice way.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Approach homework from a different perspective and maybe shorten the periods and offer a good story or fun activity once homework is completed.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with any age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I am in contact with most of them and still babysit for a family despite having a full time job in the South African Police Service.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am friendly, trustworthy and reliable. I am also an optimist and love animals and children. I have a strong sense of right and wrong.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge or scrambled egg.
LunchSandwich or pasta.
DinnerPasta, roast chicken or fish and vegetables.
SnackApple and yoghurt or rusk.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable cooking any types of foods. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married, My sister is 27 with a baby also married. My mom is a social worker, my dad is a traffic signals manager.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.