Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lelanie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11784
Name Lelanie
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No but doing course in August 2010
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2009 Polo Volkswagen
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2006.

Education

Secondary EducationAlberton High School - 2003
Tertiary EducationI haven´t done any further studies yet.
First aid TrainingNo but doing course in August 2010

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Ruanita from October 2007 to February 2010. My reason for leaving is because the kids are now inn school, and I need more hours.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She had 2 children, the boy was 9 months old and the girl was 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were to do shopping, taking children to appointments, cleaning up children´s rooms, took them on outings, prepared meals, sterilized bottles, changed nappies, and played educational games.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI did occasional babysitting for Lucinda since June 2009 to December 2009. My reason for leaving was due to her not needing me anymore, but if she contacted me I would help her out.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She has twin boys who were 16 months old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were preparing meals, changing nappies, putting them to bed, and playing games with them. I occasionally looked after them over a weekend so then I would do everything a mother would do.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care when I started working in Nursery schools. I am interested in au pairing/babysitting because I love children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 4 months old.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in are swimming, and walking.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I enjoy reading and watching movies.
What are your interests?My interests are cooking and baking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most about being apart of a child´s life is being able to see them grow and develop.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are baking, paint, playing educational games, playing games outside and taking them on outing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the type of emergency, but if I can handle the situation on my own then I will, if not I would either take them to the hospital or contact the relevant people.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven´t encountered any difficult situations.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach discipline depends on the age of the child and the parents requests. I do believe in positive reinforcement.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would ignore it as they are looking for attention. After they have calmed down I would talk to them about it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall I would take the crayons away from them and exlain why its wrong. Depending on the parents,the child and the type of mess etc, I would get them to help me clean it up.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would use positive reinforcement such as a star chart. I would also try make and make the homework experience fun as most of the time 8 year old don´t want to do their homework because its hard.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children from newborn up to the age of 6 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don´t work for any previous clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don´t have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as patient, calm, and easy going.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal / fruit with yoghurt / scrambled eggs
LunchSanwhich / chicken nuggets / sausages and vegetables / Macaronni and cheese
DinnerMeat, vegetables and rice / Pasta
SnackFruit / biltong / nuts / raisins
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No there isn´t any food that I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents got divorced when I was 4 years old. My parents are both remarried. My dad is an engineer and my mom is a stay at home mom. I have one brother who is 18 years old and sister is 12 years old. We are also a very close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.