Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicky

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11651
Name Nicky
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans, French (little bit)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? INo
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda Soho, 1997 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2008

Education

Secondary EducationMatriculated at Westerford High School, in Cape Town.
Tertiary EducationCurrently in second year at Stellenbosch University
First aid TrainingNo, I have registered for first aid.
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 -December 2008. I had to return home.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children ages 3, 5 and 7.
What were your duties?Everything really, taking them to school assisting with homework, preparing meals and breakfast for them, collecting them from school, keeping them entertained, and supervising them. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI loved this position very much, I had no issues at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love working with children, and always have. I took a gap year after matric where I worked as a sports coach/teaching assistant in a prep school in England for the duration of 2008. I really enjoyed working with the children, which has inspired me to study teaching. I also did lots of part time au paring and babysitting while I was in England, as well as occasionally in Cape Town now.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 year old.
What activities are you involved in?I play sport casually at university. I am very culturally involved in my residence at university- for example, choir committee, marketing committee and jool/rag committee.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy being outdoors and being active. I enjoy the beach, hiking and canoeing. I also enjoy reading and doing crafty activities. I love spending time with loved ones and I love travelling, meeting new people and learning new things about different cultures.
What are your interests?Culture, Music, Theatre, nature, religion and psychology.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy being around kids because of their carefree ways and vast imaginations. I like the honest, refreshing outlook kids have and the influence this can have on stubborn adults. I like that fact that I am able to make a difference in a child´s learning experiences in life- even for being in their life for a seemingly insignificant period of time.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, crafty activities such as artwork, painting, colouring. Playing kiddie games such as dress up, catches and hide-and-seek. being active outside such as swimming, bike riding, playing soccer.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Immediately contact help- such as their parents, close friends or a doctor. try to remain as calm and level-headed as possible in order to relax the child as well as to make the best on-the-spot decisions.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A 2 year old girl screamed for about an hour non-stop because she wanted her mummy to come home. I remained calm, tried to sooth her so she would stop crying, cuddled her and read her her favourite story. Eventually she calmed down and fell asleep. It was hard work and disconcerting, but I eventually managed to calm her and she was ok. She never performed that way with me again.
What is your approach to discipline?Stern, but never raise my voice too much. I like to make it clear what I expect of the child in terms of good manners, respect and behaviour, but I never discipline them harshly, as a babysitter it is awkward to discipline other people´s children. The only discipline that needs to be made clear and acted on is that which affects the child´s safety while in my company.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?At first try to calm the child down and distract them. If that does not work I will "ignore" the child (or at least pretend to) so that they realize the attention they are seeking is not going to be awarded to behaviour like that.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Stop them immediately, be stern in pointing out how wrong and naughty it is and then immediately give them an alternative surface to draw on- such as paper- so as not to alleviate the child´s creative energy and independence.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Give an incentive, for example, an extra ten minutes TV time if they do their work etc. Encourage them that learning is important and can be fun. Offer to help them and work together.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From age 2 to age 13
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not assist any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an easy-going, fun-loving and bubbly person who enjoys to be active and busy. I am a people´s person and cannot sit still and do nothing for too long. I am good with children. I am able to get on their level and relate to them at their specific age.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal, toast, scrambled egg, pancakes, fruit.
LunchSandwiches, salad, mini pizza, pasta.
DinnerPasta, spaghetti bolognaise, chicken/fish and veggies etc
SnackCrackers/provitas and cheese, fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Gourmet, complicated meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.We are a small, close family. I have one brother who is 25 years old and married. My parents are still together. My dad is a high school headmaster and my mom is the librarian in a high school. (not the same one). we have a very honest and open family relationship and enjoy spending time together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.