Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Amy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11622
Name Amy
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Citi golf VW 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seat belts back and front in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since June 2009.

Education

Secondary EducationPinetown Girls High School - 2006 (with merit) 
Tertiary EducationVarsity Collage Certificate in Public Relations - 2008 
First aid TrainingNo, I would have to register for first aid. 
Other training

Au pair training - America - 2010

Infant & child health and safety

Child development 

Age appropriate activities

Nutrition and feeding

Communication with children and Host parents.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2008 - December 2009 left to au pair in USA.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy, age 6 when I started.
What were your duties?Collect him from school, homework, lunch, after school activities, play dates, bath, dinner, babysitting supervising him and taking him on outings. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2009- February 2010. Left to au pair in USA and then still now that I am back in South Africa I am still assisting them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was an entertainer at children's parties so there was a various number of children and ages, usually from 2years up. 15 to 20 children per party. 
What were your duties?Entertain at children's parties, dress up, play games.Supervising them.Making sure they had a nice time. Making sure the children were interacting with each other.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2007 - September 2007 and then from June 2008 - September 2008. I was only temping for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?First group was 4 year old children and second group was 3 year old children. 
What were your duties?Reading stories to the children. Assisting with breakfast and lunches and snacks for them. Supervising later in the day for children of all ages. I would keep them children entertained and make sure they were kept safe. We would plan themes and fun activities for the children to do.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I finished school in 2006, I wanted to au pair overseas as a gap year, so to gain experience i started working in a pre-school and loved it ever since.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?5 months, my step sisters baby, and when I helped out once a week in the baby department at the pre-school, but full time 2 years.
What activities are you involved in?No group activities at the moment i have just returned from USA. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading, being outside, gym, socializing with friends.
What are your interests?Children, cooking, reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Everyday is different, and they are so innocent to the stress of life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Being outdoors with them, taking them for walks, swimming, play dates, libraries.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain calm to not stress the child out, call the emergency services, stay with the child and then call the parents. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was shadowing a previous au pair, and a 2 year old bumped his lip and needed stitches, I covered his mouth to stop the bleeding and passed him to the other au pair who took him to his mom that was next door, while i kept 4 other kids distracted at the park.
What is your approach to discipline?I am fairly relaxed, although I do use the magic 123 system. I give them two chances then I would send them to time out "more of a quiet time" one minute per age.  

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would remove the child from the situation. I would calm them down and find out why they are having the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would remove the crayons form the child and then explain why they cant draw on the walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would make it fun for them,I would be creative with a positive attitude. I would also explain the importance of homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer ages from 2 - 7 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?As a calm, easy to get along with person. I am friendly and have a bubbly personality. I am able to stick to a routine, punctual and neat. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, oats, pancakes
LunchSalad, sandwich
DinnerMacaroni and Cheese, chicken, fish, salad fruit and veg platter.
SnackFruit and veg, crackers, raisins, cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are divorced, my dad remarried and he lives in the UK, I have a very close relationship with my brother he is also living in the UK, my mom lives in Durban that's where I grew up.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.