Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Stacey-lee

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11522
Name Stacey-lee
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No but will be doing it through my church soon.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2006 4 door Opel Corsa GSI
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2008

Education

Secondary EducationAlberton High - 2006 (merit)
Tertiary EducationI studied 2 and a half years of law (LLB) through UJ.
First aid TrainingNo, but will do one through my church

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked there for about 3 months. My reason for leaving was due to the school closing down. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?There were about 7 children in a class, both boys and girls and they were 10 and 11 year old. 
What were your duties?My duties were teaching basic English, maths, and general grade 4 work.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Sarah from July 2009 to June 2010.My reason for leaving was due to better opportunities.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I care for 3 children, 2 girls who are 14 and 17 years old, and a boy was 17 years old when I started. 
What were your duties?My duties were to transport them to and from school, to extra murals.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?

I got involved in child care because of my interest in teaching, as well as the fact that I have 3 sisters, 2 of which are a lot younger than myself. I have worked at schools, Sunday Schools, done au pairing as well as helped out my family with their children.I am interested in au pairing/babysitting because I love children and they make me happy.

What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 11 months old.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in are playing netball and soccer. I also do promotions and am actively involved in my church. .
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time, I focus on getting the company I have started going. I spend time with my family and friends, and on weekends I play sport and go to church.
What are your interests?My interests are sports, literature, film and the outdoors.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most about childcare is that children have open hearts and love unconditionally. they expect no more than their basic rights and needs. If you give them more than that, they appreciate it more than any adult ever will, and they show their gratitude through untainted love and kindness. Children bring joy into a world that needs it very much.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are whatever they enjoy and whatever is age appropriate. You would never take a 6 month old to movies, the same way you would not expect a 13 year old to watch the teletubbies.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It first depends on what the emergency requires. If it requires first aid, I will be prepared for that; If it requires the contacting of outside services such as police, ambulance etc, I will make those contacts; if the child needs the parents, they will be the ones I contact. I believe I will be prepared for any emergency that arises and have the ability to keep a situation calm until resolved.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have no encountered any difficult situations.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that every parent has a system of discipline that they have set. If a parent explained to me their rules and boundaries for the children, I would follow those guidelines. I would never inflict corporal punishment on someone else's child, even if I had been instructed to do so. I believe that with love, patience and a firm tone and way with children, there is no need for other kinds of sanction.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Two year old's are generally in the tantrum phase of their lives. Hard discipline is uncalled for and more often than not a technique of distraction is helpful.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would explain why that behaviour is unacceptable, thereafter, I would provide them with the right utensils (ie: paper or a colouring book). I would then encourage the child to use these and join in the activity with the child, if the behaviour continues, you must repeat the steps. If the child persists with drawing on the wall, I would remove the crayons or drawing instruments and explain my reason for doing this.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would explain why homework is important and why responsibilities are an essential part of life. I would give them an incentive. eg: if the child completes homework, there will be a game to follow. Also I would make the homework a fun activity rather than a forced duty can also be helpful.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children between the ages 1 to 10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do for Sarah.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as an energetic, young and enthusiastic lady. I have a great sense of humour and passion for life. I enjoy social activities with other people my age and and my family, and one of my favourite activities is to spend time with my nephew.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastFrench toast and rooibos tea
LunchChicken strips, and chips with tomato sauce / peanut butter and jam sandwich
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaize and fruit salad desert
SnackCarrot sticks / apple slices / orange wedges
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking gammon.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still happily married. My parents have their own group of companies in engineering, prop shafts and compressors. My dad is very involved in our church and my mother spends a lot of time making sure everyone in the family has what they need and are happy. I am one of 4 girls. my sisters are aged 10, 15 and 29. I also have a nephew who is now 18 months old. I am very involved in helping out with my sisters and my nephew.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.