Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Dorothy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-115
Name Dorothy
Nationality British
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2007 Citroen C1 iplay
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedNo
How long have you been driving for?5 years

Education

Secondary EducationParel Vallei High School English Afrikaans Biology History Home Economics Business Economics
Tertiary EducationBoland College Early Child Development Course Level 4 (CAT, FAL,FHD, MLP, AIDS, MER, SSR) Lecturer: le Roux Liebenburg 0845485895
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes
Other trainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2003 to Current
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3, 7 and 9
What were your duties?Looking after 3 girls whilst parents were at work.
Your comments on the experience with this positionEnjoy looking after these children

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAug 2004 to Dec 2004
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Babies to 5 years
What were your duties?Giving comfort to children with AIDS or who have been abandoned.
Your comments on the experience with this positionLove these special children so much

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingAug 2005 to April 2006
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?4-5 year olds and baby room
What were your duties?Assistant Teacher
Your comments on the experience with this positionI love teaching children, really enjoyed it 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2008 - 2011 little boy went to school and aftercare
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One, male, 2
What were your duties?Full day age 2, playing, stimulating, hygiene routine, feeding. Fetching from school, at age 3, giving lunch and playing and stimulating him until his parents came home
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving2012 - may 2013 Mothers hours changed and both boys in preschool
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys aged 1 and 3
What were your duties? Full day, caring for both boys, playing, stimulating, hygiene routine, feeding, changing diapers etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityCape Town
Please state your accurate times of availabilityBabysitting & Au pairing

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I completed a first aid course at a school that i attended
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love looking after children and babies, It brings me joy
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years up
What activities are you involved in?Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, Kennels.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love animals, nature, being with my friends, shopping, babysitting.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love the fact that children and I both enjoy being together and playing together.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love going for walks on the beach, painting, singing, building puzzles, barbies, cars, whatever the children want to play.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Get all other children out of the room, see if i could do anything with my first aid knowledge, then call an ambulance, and make sure that the child is clear of obstructions and is breathing
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A baby that wouldn't settle, put her in the pram and took her for a walk to calm her down.
What is your approach to discipline?If the children are naughty, I let them sit on a naughty chair for(their age) in minutes.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ignore it, it will pass, then tell them you are going to do something fun they can either join you or just sit there 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the crayon away explain to them that now I cant take it home but if you draw on the paper I can, and then make it something fun to clean up together
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Be creative use star charts etc
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I love all ages, I am more happy with toddlers and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am friendly and fun and very active
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastJungle oats or pronutro or toast and egg
LunchRolls with ham and cheese or pancakes or hot dogs or hamburgers
DinnerMac and Cheese, cottage pie, roasted chicken and veggies
SnackFruit rolls, dried fruit, yogurt, melrose blocks and crackers
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.We are a close family and get on well with each other 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.