Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Candice

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11079
Name Candice
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans 2nd language

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault clio 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes,
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2004.

Education

Secondary EducationBergvliet High School - 2006.
Tertiary Education

Mary Poppins professional Au pair College - November 2007.

Busy doing my NQF level 4 in property

First aid TrainingYes, Expired
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2006 - 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls and they were 2 and 4 when I started.
What were your duties?I would babysit from 17h30, I would prepare dinner for them, play with them and keep them entertained, I would supervise them bath them and put them to bed. In the holidays I would also look after them. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI´ve watched them grow over the years and I love working with them. At the beginning they were very shy but didn't take them very long to get use to me and now they are very fond of me.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2007- December 2008. I started working full time. (Office environment)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy and he was 2 when I started.
What were your duties?Fetching him from school and dropping him off at home, sometimes had to stay with him for the afternoon if the domestic worker was sick and did babysitting at night.
Your comments on the experience with this positionHe was a very sweet child and very easy to handle. I had no issues at all.

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2007-December 2007. The after care closed down.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?30 children in the after care, 6 - 10 years old boys and girls.
What were your duties?I did the reading with each child separately and helped them with there homework. Supervising them and keeping them entertained. Some children would struggle allot with their reading and I would sit with them and help them.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoyed helping each child ad as the months went by I saw a great improvement in each one.

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2007 - current. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 weeks old little girl.
What were your duties?Bathing, feeding, changing nappies, put her down for naps and supervise her.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI love it very much, I  have had no issues at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved working with children after my aunt gave birth to twins in 2001 they were 2 months pre mature and assisted her with them over the weekends.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child that I have cared for is Newborn.
What activities are you involved in?I just returned form New York, no activities at the moment.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I babysit for the clients above. 
What are your interests?Going to the beach, walking my dogs, going on my dads boat for the day.
 Do you have any children of your own?1 born in 2013
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy working with them and seeing how they grow. I love helping them. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Making and playing with play dough, painting and drawing, baking, dressing up. With the boys we play lego, puzzles, out door activities.  
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Use the information I know that I have learnt in my first aid courses and phone the relevant people needed and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the 7 year old from USA started hitting me, I phoned his father and I left him in time out for 7 minutes and he never hit me again.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in time out, also in removal of privileges. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try talk to the child and if it doesn't work will ignore the 2 year old and see what happens because most of the time is looking for attention.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Put the child in time out and after time out give them something to try clean it off.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Put then child in time out and tell the child that I'm going to phone their mother.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 months and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist Margo.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I don't have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun loving person that likes helping other people, always wanting to have a fun time. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast/pancakes/cereal.
LunchToasted sandwich
DinnerMac and cheese
Snackbiscuits/ fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I would not want to cook huge meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 1 brother that is 18 he is at college, I live with my mom and dad and they have their own businesses. My mom is a fashion designer and my dad has a glass and mirror business.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.