Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Samantha Ann

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11053
Name Samantha Ann
Nationality South Afircan
Age 43
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2006 Fiat Panda
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes I have seat belts all round.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 1998.

Education

Secondary EducationRoodepoort College -n 1995
Tertiary Education

1) 1995 - Rooderpoort college - N3 Business studies

2) 1996 - Rooderpoort college - N4 Public Relations

3) 1997 - Academy Learning - Windows 95 Introductions, work for Windows Basic

4) 1999 (USA)- Rockland BOCES (USA) - Introduction to Access 97

5) 1999 (USA) Professional Child Care College - au-pair orientation programme

6) 2000 (USA) Rockland BOCES - Introduction to the Internet

7) 2000 (USA) Au pair - ECD (Early child development)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Paula from January 2009 to August 2009. My reason for leaving was due to the family immigrating to Australia.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She had 3 children, 2 boys (5, 10 years old), and one girl (8 years old).
What were your duties?My duties were mainly taking them to extra murals, take children on outing and supervising with homework.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Isabelle from June 2007 to December 2008. My reason for leaving was due to finance.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She had 2 children, both girls, who were 6 and 8 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were taking them to extra murals, taking them on outings, and supervising homework.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in March 2011 - March 2012. I left due to the hours being too long, I got home late in the evenings.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 3 children, they were 7, 10 and 12 years old when I started.
What were your duties?The mom was a stay at home mom, but always very busy, I had to keep the children busy. I packed their bags and lunches for the next day, took them to extra mural activities and assisted them with their homework. I took them on outing during holidays and kept them entertained. My hours always varied, I never had set working times with this family.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable.
Part timeNegotiable.

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care when I went to Au pair overseas. I am interested in au pairing/babysitting now as I love children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 5 months old (for the family I worked for when I was au pairing overseas).
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in are reading, writing children´s short stories and going to the gym.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I watch DVD´s, go horse riding, and my husband and I sometimes go camping on weekends.
What are your interests?My interests are children.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most about child care is being able to make a difference in their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are swimming, playing board games, and interacting with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency, I would immediately take them to the hospital then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have ever dealt with was when one of the children I was taking care was very sick, and his temperature was at 40 degree's. I dealt with it by contacting the parents immediately and then I took him to the closes hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I don´t believe in smacking any child but I will always use a time out approach.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would first calm the child down, and then tell the child that if he does not stop, then I am going to put him in time out, or take away a toy he likes for awhile.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would tell the child that the wall is not for drawing on and give him a piece of paper to draw on and the child must help me clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would take away a privileged until they do their homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children between the ages of 6 and 10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don´t work for any previous clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, my daughter was born in April 2013.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as friendly, helpful and a cheerful person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal / toast / scrambled eggs
LunchSandwich / Fruit
DinnerFish fingers / chicken nuggets / rice / pasta
SnackFruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?There isn't anything that I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married and I am the only ( I was adopted when I was 6 days old). My parents are both retired. I have been married now for 4 years and hope to one day have my own children. My husband works for Nashua mobile.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.