Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kate

Personal Details

Reference # 201-11009
Name Kate
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes -I have a valid first aid.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes , seatbelts back and front in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2007.

Education

Secondary EducationRedhill High School 2004 (Matric exemption)
Tertiary EducationCape Town College of Fashion and Design. 2007 - 2009.
First aid TrainingYes, I have a valid first aid.
Other trainingI have done make up and special effects in 2006 received a certificate.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2005 - November 2005. Left to commence studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls ages 2 and 6.
What were your duties?PA in mornings, au pair in afternoons. Fetch from school, assist 6 year old with homework (reading, spelling etc), prepare lunch. Organise play dates, outings etc. Bath time, nappy changing and prepare supper.Occasional babysitting. PA duties: Organise all appointments, I had to prepare presentations and take in orders, Often go with her to take minutes of meetings. Answering of phones and emails. I worked on Microsoft word and excel, preparing of spread sheets. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2007 - November 2007. I was busy studying Fashion Design in 2008.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children one boy and one girl 5 and 7 years old at the time.
What were your duties?PA duties: Sit in on meetings, filing and organising her diary, I would handle projects on my own, taking on full responsibility. Liaise with clients. Working on spread sheets and Microsoft word etc. Au pairing duties: I would assist as an Au pair in the afternoons. I would collect the 5 year old from school and then the little girl. I would take them to extra murals or to friends. I would prepare snacks or lunches and eat together. I would often come up with themes that the children were learning at school. I would of course supervise them, play outdoor activities with them.I would run their bath, make sure they had done all their homework and let them settle down and then I would prepare a family meal for them and the parents.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 - May 2009. Kim started working from home. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 months and 3 years old one boy and one girl.
What were your duties?It was 3 times a week from 3 - 6pm. Prepare snacks, often the kids next door would come over. We went on lots of outings together. With the little one, I changed nappies and prepare bottles, later on I would prepare foods for him, bathing them and keep them entertained. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingStill assisting: I have been assisting Jillian for the last two years now. Since 2008
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Approximately 10 - 20 children per theme, boys and girls.Ages ranging from 2 - 10 years old.
What were your duties?We prepare games and party themes, We entertain the children and supervise them, making sure they are in good hands and interact with them. 
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingI assisted her for 8 months, the family moved to Capri in Kommetjie. Since 2009. (Babysitting)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl 11 years old.
What were your duties?General babysitting duties, assisting her at gym class, we would prepare meals together, supervise her. We would get movies together. Making sure she was in bed by a certain hour the parents requested.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love love love kids of all ages. It is something I always fall back on doing and have formed great relationships with all the families I have worked for.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest age that I have cared for is newborn.
What activities are you involved in?Fashion shoots and being active.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Art and being creative. I paint whenever I get a moment. Also love photography and anything to do with fashion.
What are your interests?Art, music, photography, tai chi and yoga, hiking, swimming, reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to be the "big sister" and assist them wherever possible. I also love seeing a child grow up and learn new things each day. Knowing that I was a part of that makes me proud.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Play dates, fun educational outings, outdoor activities, picnics, art, being creative, swimming.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Make sure I have the pediatricians number at hand all the time, as well as Mom/Dad´s numbers.Know location of pediatrician in case I need to rush.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A little girl burnt her hands on a toasted sandwich machine on the sides, I immediately took her hands and put it under cold water, then calmed her down and put some burn shield on her hands. 
What is your approach to discipline?I would go according to the families rules on discipline.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calm them down, distract them with something fun. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it is wrong,take away the crayon and give them paper to draw on. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them that it is very important to do homework. Use fun activities for them, or star charts to keep them motivated. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with Newborn- 11yrs.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist Carmeny. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Fun!! artistic, positive, trustworthy, reliable, adventurous, active, perfect "big sister".
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSoldier eggs with toast fingers
LunchToasted sandwich/fish fingers with mash, hot dogs,chicken nuggets, always with s small portion of fruit/yoghurt/veg.
DinnerFish and mash with veg, roast chicken for the family, spaghetti, macaroni, pasta (all age depending)
Snackyoghurt, biscuits and juice, fresh cut up fruit, Vienna and cut up cucumber, pineapple, carrots etc. A good variety in small portions I find works the best!
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, there is no foods I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.Sister- Kirsty aged 25- currently traveling the world. Mom- Liz - radiographer Dad- Mike- Headmaster Parents live in Franschoek and are still married. Very close knit family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.