Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Minette

Personal Details

Reference # 201-10432
Name Minette
Nationality South African
Age 38
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English & Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda 4 door.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seatbelts back and front in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2003.

Education

Secondary EducationHeilbron High School Matriculated in 1999.
Tertiary Education

Edu care N4:

Edu care N5:

Edu care N6:

First aid TrainingYes, I have a valid first aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2002 - December 2006. I went to America to Au pair.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?10 children boys and girls 2 - 3 years of age.
What were your duties?I had my own class. Basically teaching, and toilet training with them. Supervising them. Doing class activities, teaching them songs etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?After school I done an edu care course and that´s where it started. I love children and this is my passion in life.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child that I have cared for was 11 months. I assisted at Fichardtkruin in the baby room.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy being at home and entertaining at home. I love spending time with family and friends.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I currently work for Dischem in Bloemfontein.
What are your interests? 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The fact that your responsible for the child and teaching him or her to develop. You get to teach them life skills.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Everything! From taking walks to reading books. Swimming with them doing educational activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would try and assist the situation as much as possible, and try to be calm as possible. I would also contact the relevant emergency numbers given by the parents and then after contacting the emergency numbers I will contact the client to relay the message that their child is at the hospital etc.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the boys were up on the jungle gym. He fell or slipped. He fell on his arm, we then phoned his parents and then took him to the doctor. The parents met us at the hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?Its very important because it teaches them boundaries. You need to be firm but also remember that they still need to learn and you are there to teach them and help them on the right way. I would discuss this with the parents as well.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would evaluate the situation and then try and work on it. See where you can solve the problem.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?At that age they should know that they are not supposed to do that. Explain that it is not allowed. Give the child then paper and let them continue their beautiful drawing.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try and figure out what the problem is. Maybe they are struggling to do the homework. I use star charts which work quite well. If the homework is completed they get rewarded for good work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0 - 5 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a peoples person. I am fun loving and caring and easy going.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWeetbix, toast with eggs. Juice
LunchSandwiches with fruit and juice.
DinnerFish fingers and mash, with salad or chicken with veggies and rice.
SnackYoghurt and fruit, cream crackers and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am always willing to learn new types of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have one brother and sister. My brother is a teacher. My sister is studding to be a doctor. My parents are still married. My mother works for a doctor doing admin work. My father works for ABSA. We have two cats and two dogs as well.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.