Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Leigh

Personal Details

Reference # 201-10429
Name Leigh
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English & Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No - I will be registering for first aid.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta 2005 4 door.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2007.

Education

Secondary EducationParel Vallei Highs School 2001 - 2005 (Matric exemption)
Tertiary EducationUniversity of Stellenbosch - present: BComm (Management Sciences)-2006
First aid TrainingNo - will be registering for first aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving15 January 2009 - 15 January 2010. My contract finished.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children boy and girl 11 and 13 years old.
What were your duties?Collect them from school and prepare lunches for them. Put school clothes in washing basket. Take them to extra murals and swimming lessons. Supervise them and assisted them with homework.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mom works at an after care, I used to visit her during the week and that´s how I got involved in childcare. My last Au pair job was revered by my best friends mom.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child in general was 6 years old, whilst I was babysitting.
What activities are you involved in?I play tennis with my friends socially and do lots of walking and reading.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?When they get so happy and their faces brighten up. I just love kids.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy reading books or playing with toys, doing puzzles and colouring in. Playing educational games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would respond to paramedics and the police and then get hold of the family members.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never had a situation I could not handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I would follow the parents guidelines.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would give the child time to calm down a bit. Find out why they had the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the crayon which is being used. I would go down to their level and tell them that they have done something wrong. I would make sure that they understand and that they should apologize.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would first do an activity with them and then maybe we can approach the homework again.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am happy to work with children from 5 onwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very loving, fun outgoing, I am always looking for a new adventure and very goal orientated.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWeetbix, or fruit loops..
LunchSandwich cheese and tomato and cucumber.
DinnerLasagne or Mac and cheese and try to give them veggies as well.
SnackFruits, kelloggs snack bar or juice.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have an older sister who is 27, she is a Chef, she also lives at home with my family. My mom just finished working at the after care. My dad enjoys squash.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.