Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lisa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-10426
Name Lisa
Nationality South African/British
Age 57
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?No
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 2006 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No, 
How long have you been driving for?26 years

Education

Secondary EducationMatric Sans Souci - 1979.
Tertiary EducationAdvanced psycho-synthesis/ Training with Sunrise education Trust
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingConflict management/medication training/risk assessment training/food hygiene/life skills training

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 89 - April 90 Sept 01- July 02. The first time I left was because I had my little girl. Second time I was just temping for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I taught up to 12 children ages ranged from 2 - 5 years boys and girls.
What were your duties?Teaching them song, doing some Montessori work. Role playing and arts and crafts. Working with puzzles and numbers.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 - current. I am still currently helping Penny from time to time with her 3 month old little boy.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?He was new born since I started assisting him.
What were your duties?Feeding, general caring for his every need while Mum was not there.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am passionate about children and now that my daughter is grown up, I feel I have a new energy I would like to work with children again
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born
What activities are you involved in?My most recent job has been in the field of counselling. I spend a lot of time in spiritual exploration and self development.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Meditation/nature walking/reading/in the UK I did a lot of volunteering within the field of homelessness.
What are your interests?Self development/spirituality/animals/art
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?There is nothing more rewarding than being around the energy of children. I feel that they are generally not as complicated as adults and generally always respond to love.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Being in and exploring nature/baking/reading/art activities/board games/music/free play
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the nature of the emergency. I would quickly assess the situation, always putting the need and well being of the child first. Contacting a parent is always top of the list, thought not before the safety and health of the child.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never encountered anything to serious other than an emotionally traumatised child, being left by parents, where I have sat with them, allowed them to feel their feelings and gradually draw them into an activity I know they like, with a lot of love. I have had a very sick child which we had to get to the hospital, which we did while parents were informed and met us at the hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I set clear boundaries. I am very clear that their behaviour and who they are separate when they misbehave; it´ there behaviour that is not good, not the individual. I do not believe in physical punishment. I would always discuss with the family how they do things and work together with them.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on where you were, I would let them have there tantrum, I would ignore the tantrum. I would try and connect. I have always experienced that the child feels you are truly not bothered they quickly stop. I have also calmed a child by just holding them until they calm. I haven´t any too serious a tantrum that has not calmed quite quickly.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?All of that kind of behaviour needs to be discussed with parents. I would always have boundaries in place and if they cross the boundary then there is a consequence. Consequence´s are something I would discuss with the parents.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Again I would discuss this sort of thing with the family first. I don´t believe in forcing a child to do anything.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am good with all ages, though have a special love for up to 5yrs.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Penny Garden
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have one and she is 19yrs
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an open minded person who has a strong personality. I would say I am conscious person who is grateful for my life and every stage has been an opportunity to grow. I have loved being a mother. I would say that it has been the part of my life I have most treasured. I love to laugh and love meditation.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastMuesli/yoghurt/fruit/toast/juice
LunchSalad /bread/cheese/Avocado
Dinnerpasta/rice dish/different types of bakes/soup stew
Snackfruit/yoghurt/cracker/raisins/dates/sandwich
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am vegetarian, so I don´t like cooking meat. If I have to I will, though will not cut up raw meet or fish.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 2 brothers, one is 48 the other is 43. My father died when I was 22 and my mother died when I was 38. My parents were together till there passing parted them.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.