Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Katlego

Personal Details

Reference # 201-10330
Name Katlego
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans, Sotho, Zulu, Tswana, Xhosa, Sepedi

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 VW polo player
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes there are seat belts in the back and front of my car
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedI went into the back of someone because I didn't realize he was closer than I thought he was.
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2004.

Education

Secondary EducationI matriculated from Midrand High School in 2003. Subjects taken: English. Afrikaans,Maths, Science, Biology and Business Economics. I completed matric with exemption.
Tertiary EducationNo I don't have any tertiary education at present.
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes, I have a valid first aid certificate.
Other trainingI have completed a baby stimulation & nutrition course

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI au paired in France from 24th July 2006 to January 2007. My reason for leaving was due to coming back to South Africa
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?They had 2 girls who were 4 years and 6 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were bathing, taking to school, cleaning house, fetching school, making them supper, and playing with them
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was wonderful, got to learn some French, experienced a lot of different things.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Wayne from October 2009 to January 2010. My reason for leaving was because the hours became hectic and couldn't keep up with the hours.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?I was responsible for his daughter who was 6 months old when I started.
What were your duties?Get ready for school, bath her, breakfast, take and fetch from school, play with her, get ready for bed
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was lovely, it was tranquil as it was in the mountains and there were animals around.

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2007 to December 2008 (Occasional babysitting)
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?She has one daughter of 10 years when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were to make sure she had supper, that she had a bath and went to bed on time, I would play games with her and colour in with her.
Your comments on the experience with this positionShe is a lovely child and I really enjoy spending time with her.

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityJohannesburg North and Sandton
Please state your accurate times of availabilityI am available for babysitting only as I am working full time. (Nov 2012)

Salary expectations

Full timen/a
Part timeNeg.

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am currently studying a pilates course. In 5 years I would like to see myself grow in the health and fitness area especially in my pilates.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in childcare when my mom started her orphanage in 1999 called the New Jerusalem Children's Home (www.newjerusalem.co.za). I helped out from the first child till there was workers and funding. I still help out all the time as I love it. I am interested in au au pairing/babysitting because I love being apart of children's lives.  
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is newborn.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in is pilates, gym, help out with the orphanage
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I read, reflexology, massage and healing.
What are your interests?I am interested in healing (alternative therapy) and pilates.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like most about being apart of a child's life is because you can guide them, love them, see them grow and develop and being apart of their life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are swimming, and games. Children need your presence and also need to know they have your attention - when they know that they are happy.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency I would take charge of the situation and handle the situation in the best way possible and contact the parents and anyone else such as ambulance if needed. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have dealt with is when children are not disciplined. I just let the child be and let the parents handle it.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is to give them a firm warning. I do think time out works but it has its pro's and con's. I would always follow the parents requirements when it comes to discipline.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would follow what the parents ask me to. In general, it depends on why they are throwing a tantrum. If they are throwing a tantrum for attention then I would ignore it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would tell the child it is wrong and help the child to clean the wall. Afterwards I would sit down with the child and draw with him on paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do homework, I would first ask them why they don't want to do their homework and work from there on. I would also explain how important homework is and try assist.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I still do occasional babysitting for Natalie.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, my son is 2 years old now (2016).
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as a social, kind, helpful, athletic, sporty, compassionate, loving person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook.
BreakfastEggs, bacon, mushrooms / cereal (but depends on their age)
LunchMacaroni, mince meat, peas / sandwich
DinnerFish, brown rice, gravy / Mash potato boerewors,broccoli.
SnackFruits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No there inst anything I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I was raised by my mom, I have a younger brother who is 20 years old. I love my family and we are very close. My brother and I also help with my moms orphanage. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.