Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-10113
Name Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 38
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes- I need to do a refresher course.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Corsa Lite 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seat belts back and front all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedDue to a parking incident I scratched my car.
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2001.

Education

Secondary EducationRhenish Girls High School - 1999 (Matric Exemption)
Tertiary Education

Stellenbosch University

(B.A Degree in International Studies) - 2002 Boland College

(Early childhood development) - 2003

First aid TrainingYes, I would have to do a refresher course.
Other trainingLocal Au pair requiting agency and then an Au pair international agency.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving

January 2004 - December 2005. Myself and my husband moved to Cape Town.

I assisted Babin again in September 2007 - December 2007. They needed assistance and it was only temp.

I also assisted in the baby room.

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

4 - 5 year olds 25 children in a group. Boys and girls.

3 - 4 year old class.

Youngest child that I have cared for in the baby room is one years old.

What were your duties?Morning ring, chat about the weekend talk about the theme that you are going to do with the children, arts and crafts times, supervise outdoor play time. Time slot where children could move to different activities i,e block room or puzzle room. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2005 - December 2005. I went to work for a family member, and at this stage I felt like a different challenge. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Shannon was 16 months when I started there.I assisted with the new born twins as well.
What were your duties?General feeding's, preparing breakfast, lunches and suppers. Stimulating activities to arts and crafts. Basic things about numbers and books. I would take her to classes like moms and tots. I we also went to discovery kids. we would go to the beach and the aquarium and park.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?After I have finished my degree I though about what's I wanted to do and I wanted to work with younger children. This is what I enjoy doing in parts with the knowledge and being part of their development. I also assisted at Convenant Kidz for the period of  January 2007 - September 2007 for 13 children ages 3-4 years.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child have cared for is new born.
What activities are you involved in?I am part of the rotary club of Bellville, basically its for charity and the money we put towards homes and abused children and projects like that.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other employment at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being able to relax and have fun with them. You get to enjoy yourself and get to enjoy yourself with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outings: going out and about I love doing these activities with the children. I enjoy creative activities with children i.e puzzles and blocks. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the emergency numbers and then the parents. Depending on the situation I would remain calm and calm the child down. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had a little boy who was very rebellious and I would handle the situation by talking to him one on one and correspond with his parents on how to handle the situation. 
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore them, but of course making sure they are still safe. Then once the tantrum has calmed I would talk to them about it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would give him something else to do or give him paper to draw on. I would explain why it is wrong to draw on walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain that its something that we must do, and that it must be completed. I would find out why they don't want to do their homework and after that we can do something fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with 6 months - 13 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I don't have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am caring, bubbly. I am slightly outgoing. I am calm and responsible and reliable and can handle situations on my own.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereals, oats, yoghurt or fruits.
LunchSmall vienna's and cold meats with raw veggies. In winter soups
DinnerMacaroni and cheese. Red meats and chicken with rice and veggies.
SnackFruits, dried fruits, Cheeses or finger foods.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have one sister who lives in London. My parents are re married and are very happy. I also have step sisters and brothers. My mom is a paint techniques. My dad is a mechanical engineer.  

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.